Vocal Session 16/3/17

Last Thursday I had a client in to record vocals on a couple of backing tracks. I had the Neumann U87 set up in the Live Room and had part of the pull out wall set up like a vocal booth. I tried this out after seeing my friend do it in his recording session. It actually helped to get a cleaner sound from the room and avoided any unwanted frequencies. I used the grand technique of recording takes while the client was just practicing, this allowed her to give a great performance without the stress of knowing I was recording. She did very well but did get tired after a while. We took a couple of breaks and this gave me the opportunity to set up the DL241 compressor, and this really helped to ease her vocal on the dynamic choruses. I felt a lot more confident recording vocals as I have now worked with three clients, and having the experience allowed me to record better and have a better understanding of levels. So it was a successful session, and I’d like to explore recording other instruments more.

Quick video review of the session here

 

Leave a comment