Marketing Campaign Updated

My ideas have changed since starting my marketing campaign.

I am a service provider as a Producer/Composer.

How have I marketed my tracks? – I have put my two production tracks up on Soundcloud, and posted about the tracks on my artist Facebook page. My music is difficult as it can’t be put out into the mainstream easily because it’s aimed towards TV & Film. However, I have been keeping tabs on the Shooting People Brighton film group, and I posted on there promoting my service.

Where can the work be placed to attract attention? – My work can be placed on Soundcloud, and I can post about it on my Facebook artist page. This will help to generate interest. I can also post previews of the tracks on my instagram to promote them. Ideally, my work would be suitable in Pitchfork, or on Film music sites.

My client is writing new material and is starting to play gigs in Brighton and the local area, so this is helping to promote my service as a producer as well as her talent.

A couple of targets are to have at least 10 plays on soundcloud for the tracks, and at least 10 people viewing the posts on my artist Facebook page. This would help to raise my profile as a producer, and I have more of a chance of people discovering my music. It would be great to gain 5 new followers on soundcloud and have 5 more likes on Facebook by the end of February. After putting Summertime Sadness up on Soundcloud, within an hour, Atlantic Records A & R had followed me and liked the track. This is very unusual, and could be very beneficial to progressing with my client.

Who do I develop relationships/networking with?

Already in the first term I have made three new contacts. One contact was Make This Noise who assigned us a training brief to write music for an advert. They are a valuable contact as my music suits adverts, TV & Film. They are one of the leading companies in the sector who represent some high profile clients such as Nike. Another contact is an acquaintance I met at a party who is heading into a similar direction as me on her music production course. It is good to stay in touch, as we may need to collaborate in the future. My other contact is my main client, as she has music connections in the US, and this is really helpful as I would like to venture out to the US, work with other producers, and build up my reputation.

I have also been networking with friends, they all work in a range of sectors such as fashion, photography, film, graphic design etc. This is really helpful to me as you never know who you need to collaborate with on a project, and a lot of art projects need sound design or music.

The main technique that I have used so far to promote my work is to just meet people at events, and use word of mouth and personal recommendations from friends and family to gain work.

Tasks

-Work with one main client to produce an album by the end of the year. So far, I have produced three tracks with Solveig.

-Keep social media updated: Regularly post about what I have achieved, what I’ve been working on, and what I’m aiming for

-Make videos of me working in the studio to show my skills as an engineer/producer. This will raise awareness of my role as a producer, and hopefully give insight to potential clients who might want to work with me.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

